Mormon Choir Member Quits Over Trump Inauguration

Singer resigns from Mormon Tabernacle Choir, says she ‘could never look myself in the mirror again’ if she performed for Trump

The Mormon Tabernacle Choir’s acceptance of the invitation to sing at Donald Trump’s inauguration has spawned widespread debate among the faithful and thousands of signatures on a petition demanding the decision’s reversal.

Now the choir’s participation has even more fallout: the resignation of a female singer.

“Since ‘the announcement,’ I have spent several sleepless nights and days in turmoil and agony. I have reflected carefully on both sides of the issue, prayed a lot, talked with family and friends, and searched my soul,” Jan Chamberlin wrote in a resignation letter to the choir president and choir members. “I’ve tried to tell myself that by not going to the inauguration, that I would be able to stay in choir for all the other good reasons. I’ve tried to tell myself that it will be all right and that I can continue in good conscience before God and man.”

But she could not do it, Chamberlin said in the letter, she later posted on Facebook. “I could never look myself in the mirror again with self-respect.”

Before I begin discussing this… this is not a political opinion. I am looking at our behavior and how we respond to circumstances.

So where do we go with this? She resigns because Trump’s morality is too heavy for her to bear.

Let me say that the only difference between Trump and you or me, is that he ran for president and had his dirty laundry aired out for all to see. If all of our lives were laid bare for all to see, nobody would do anything for anybody – based on the response from the woman in the church. Trump just talked. Many people root for sports teams with people that have committed actual crimes to others. Many people support politicians who have committed crimes, or cheated on their taxes.

Let’s bring another aspect to the table. She is a member of a church choir. So I assume she is a church member. She indicated that she prayed about it to God. What I see is a missed opportunity for a testimony to God. Because if there is anyone fit to turn His back on sinful people, it’s God. Yet He sent His Son to die for people who continually offend Him through sinful behavior.

Why not take this approach? I am appalled at the morality that Trump displayed, but just as God forgave me for the things I did, He can forgive Trump for the things he said as well. So while I do not support what Trump said, I will sing to glorify God with the hope that Mr. Trump or anyone else will come to a relationship with God through faith in His Son.

Leave a comment